Lorch the big winner with a brace of awards

Thembinkosi Lorch. Picture: goal.com.


Orlando Pirates star midfielder Thembinkosi Lorch stole the show at the Premier Soccer League (PSL) awards ceremony on Sunday after bagging two of the three awards which he was nominated for, including the most coveted – PSL Footballer of the Year.

Lorch beat two Mamelodi Sundowns men, captain Hlompho Kekana and Themba Zwane for the awards, which included the Absa Premiership Players’ Player of the Season.

Kekana, though, did get one over his Pirates counterpart in the Absa Premiership Midfielder of the Season category, winning the award ahead the same two players with whom he was in the running for the Footballer of the Year and the Players’ Player of the Season gongs.

Hlompho Kekana. Picture: goal.com.

The awards ceremony, hosted by SuperSport presenter Carol Tshabalala, the SABC’s Thomas Mlambo and celebrity TV and radio presenter Bonang Matheba, was held at the Durban ICC.

Kekana’s coach Pitso Mosimane also beat a Pirates man for an award, as he won the Absa Premiership Coach of the Season ahead of the Buccaneers’ Milutin Sredojevic and Benni McCarthy of Cape Town City FC. Another member of the championship-winning side to bag an award, centre back Ricardo Nascimento, won the Absa Premiership Defender of the Season ahead of Sifiso Hlanti of Bidvest Wits and Cape Town City’s Thamsanqa Mkhize.

But Pirates also had midfielder Vincent Pule taking an award for the Absa-lutely Awesome Goal, for his strike against Polokwane City in their last game of the league season, at the Orlando Stadium two weeks ago.

SuperSport United’s 23-year-old Teboho Mokoena won the Absa Premiership Young Player of the Season ahead of Gift Links of Cape Town City and Bloemfontein Celtic’s Bongani Sam, while the Nedbank Cup winning side TS Galaxy saw two of its heroes Zakhele Lepasa and Terrence Mashego bag the Nedbank Cup Player of the Tournament and Most Promising Player awards, respectively.

The other awards:

MTN8 Last man standing: Peter Leeuwenburgh (Cape Town City).

Telkom Knockout Player of the Season: Elvis Chipezeze (Baroka FC)

Absa Premiership Goalkeeper of the Season: Ronwen Williams (SuperSport United)

PSL Referee of the Season: Abongile Tom

Assistant referee of the Season: Emmanuel de Sani

MultiChoice Diski Challenge Most Precious Find: Sipho Chaine (Bloem Celtic)

MultiChoice Diski Shield Player of the Tournament: Siboniso Conco (Golden Arrows)

The chairman’s award: Cedric ‘Sugar Ray’ Xulu, Siyabonga Nomvethe, Lindiwe Dube.