IEC announces national and provincial general election results

Independent Electoral Commission (IEC) announced the sixth national and provincial election results at the IEC’s Results Operational Centre (ROC) in Tshwane on Saturday evening.

The African National Congress (ANC) hung onto the Gauteng province, bagging over 50% of the votes by a thin margin. The Democratic Alliance (DA) remains the main opposition after comfortably taking overseas votes by 74.45%.

Gauteng was contested by 36 political parties, with African Christian Democratic Party (ACDP) winning by a low 0.71%, Inkatha Freedom Party (IFP) 0.89%, Economic Freedom Fighters (EFF) 14.68%, DA 27.4% and the ANC with 50.19% in the Gauteng Legislature.

Three new political parties will be presented in parliament for the next five years. Jimmy Manyi’s African Transformation Movement (ATM), Patricia de Lille’s Good Party and Ganief Hendricks’ Al Jama-ah are the new rookies in the national assembly after this year’s polls. Both Al Jama-ah and ATM occupying 2 seats.

For the sixth time in a row in 25 years the ANC will lead the pack in with 230 seats followed by the DA with 84 seats and Economic Freedom Fighters with 44 seats in parliament.

President Cyril Ramaphosa began his keynote address by applauding the IEC for acting professionally and impartially in this year’s elections and says parties should accept the outcome.

“There was a lot of contestation, there was a lot of exchange of wonderful words to each other, harsh words to each other, but we were in a contest. All of us are called upon to accept the word and will of our people irrevocably,” says Ramaphosa.

This follows after a number of smaller parties threatened to take the legal route if their grievances are not met. They said the elections were not free and fair, citing a few irregularities.

Black First Land First (BLF) leader Andile Mngxithama and African Content Movement (ACM) leader Hlaudi Motsoeneng both maintain that their votes were stolen to maintain white monopoly capital.